MY FIRST DATE WITH SCUDDY: 5 SEPTEMBER 2004

8 years ago today I asked a certain young lady on a date.  I would always argue that I knew she was going to become my wife right from the start…but that’s a discussion you need to have with me over a cuppa coffee.

I can clearly remember that time frame.  We met at Yolanda’s farewell party and Yollie suggested I go to Candice’s 21st birthday party in her place as she won’t be in the country at the time anymore.  Candice motioned her request with her eyes and I melted and eagerly agreed.  We didn’t chat much at the party but when she asked me to take her home, we were chatting nineteen to the dozen!  We had such a lot in common; from our careers to formula one!  I was thinking to myself, “Oh my word! Marry me!”

I remember sending Yolanda a text that read: “your friend is quite yummy!”

For two weeks thereafter I was looking for her number because I have now mustered up the courage to ask this gal on a date.  I remembered she said that she worked at the bank and so I called.  Upon my first call she was busy and I was holding.  Suffice to say, I didn’t get hold of her that day but inside I felt that I just needed to hear her voice again.  I was a man on a mission!

A week later the courage came back again and I called.  She answered this time.  My heart started racing faster than Michael Schumacher in a Ferrari in his prime.  I don’t know what the conversation was about but all I remember is Candice agreeing to go out on a date with me.  It was set for 5 September 2004.  Thinking back it was my date with “destiny”.  I know it’s corny but seriously, it was!

We went to News Café in Blaauwberg and I can’t remember what I ordered but she had muesli for supper.  Only a long while thereafter I found out it was because she was nervous that she ordered such funny food.  Well, the food was not on the menu for the evening, it was the company of a beautiful, young lady whom I couldn’t take my eyes from.

The night ended with us at the foot of Table Mountain enjoying the view of the lights below.  I was holding her in my arms and heard myself saying, “so are you gonna kiss me, Miss Daniels?”  She went all shy and the moment was gone.  I wasn’t sad at all because I knew that we found a connection and my kiss will wait for another day.

PS: I call her Scuddy because it’s a direct American translation for “skattie”

Picture taken at our honeymoon in 2006 in Durban

About eugene

Love God, Love photography and adore my wife :) oh and fast cars!!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Exposure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to MY FIRST DATE WITH SCUDDY: 5 SEPTEMBER 2004

  1. Shaveh says:

    WOW-what a cool story-we also started dating around that this one of year 🙂 but what is so fascinating is how thin you were E 🙂 marriage has done you guys a world of good. Love you both

  2. ewillenburgh says:

    Hahahaha! Love it, is that really you guys, Wow!!! So young!!!

  3. Jasmine* says:

    Such a great story! 🙂

  4. Nadia says:

    Yay for the 5th of September! ; )

  5. Yolanda says:

    Gosh chommie has it been that loooooong. Shoe! feels like only yesterday you guys hoocked up. Luv this post, brings back so many memories:)

  6. Chandré says:

    Eugene, this blog blew me away. And doesnt help I’m such a romantic at heart! Hopefully my day will come soon!

Leave a Reply

