Friendships

Have you ever found yourself asking whether the people you call your friends are really genuine and true? Do people stay for only a season or do they stay for a lifetime in your life?  I often look at my friendships and reassess my position.  This doesn’t mean that I’m just cutting people out of my life, no, on the contrary, I ask myself how can I be a better friend.

Jesus said: “Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.”  John 15:13.  A very strong statement?  Does it mean we’ll have to die for our friends?  Well, it depends what your definition of “dying” is.  Here’s a few thoughts on “dying” for our friends.

In my quest for true friendship, I’ve realised that I needed to befriend myself and be comfortable with myself in order to make someone else comfortable in my space.  I had to accept myself for who I am; if I can’t, how would others?  If there’s one thing that I’ve learned from being married is that I can’t change people.  The only person I can change is myself.

We need to make time for our friendships.  I often ask myself where on my priority list is my friendships.  Now, we can get very busy with people (at work, school, campus, church) but that does not necessarily mean that we are carving into meaningful friendships.  True friendships need to be prioritised and be moved higher up the pole.

Candice and I have been reading a book whereby the author speaks about ladies “seeing through pink sunglasses and men hearing with blue ears.” 🙂  You may add your own connotations to that but it simply boils down to someone not hearing what the other is saying.  Sometimes friends just want someone who can listen, no advice, no telling them what to do…just listen.  Have we lost the art of listening or has life become so technical that everything needs a solution NOW?

Just get up for a second and go to a mirror.  Look at yourself and ask whether you are enriching your friendships or whether you are sucking them dry.  Are people excited when you enter a room or do they avoid you like the 8th plague?  True friendship is a treasured gift; every time we talk to each other, it should feel as if we’re getting richer and richer.

You know, the easiest for a friendship to go into a state of decline is when one party is not happy with what the other is doing but says/does NOTHING about it.  We are there to be each others’ blind spots and need to point out these difficult situations to each other.  We can’t only be in each others’ lives for the good times and happily agree with one another.  In LOVE and with INTEGRITY, we need to also reprimand, if necessary.

I always try and see the good in everyone.  Not always to my benefit as I do get my fingers burned now and then.  But I sincerely think that is how we should handle our friendships…seeing the positive side of our friendships.  Commend each other and brag about each other.  That’s the best way of strengthening a friendship even further.

We all know the saying that goes, a friend in need is a friend indeed.  So, let’s visit each other when we’re in hospital, let’s dry each other’s tears in time of despair and let’s pray for each other in times of hopelessness.

Barbara Bush:  At the end of your life, you will never regret having passed one more test, not winning one more verdict or not closing one more deal.  You will regret time not spent with a husband, a friend, a child or a parent.

eugenehenryphotography

eugenehenryphotography

eugenehenryphotography

eugenehenryphotography

eugenehenryphotography

eugenehenryphotography

eugenehenryphotographyeugenehenryphotographyeugenehenryphotography

About eugene

Love God, Love photography and adore my wife :) oh and fast cars!!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friendships

  1. Elton says:

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!! Batman!!! Where did you pull this pic out of bru? Dig the blog my chommie, and am very comfortable with who I am, and who my friends are. Photo’s are awesome memories to share… 🙂

  2. Grizelda says:

    This is an amazing post and all so true. It takes me back afew years when we met and how we met and how our friendship grew and how we grew. Reminded me so much of friends and loved ones we had before. Of how we became a family, starting out with the “faithfull few” that never missed nothing and was always there for each other no matter what. It makes me realise that it is up to us to either restore those relationships or just move on without them. One should also ask ourselves the question, did that person add value to my life or not. If so, that friendship is def worth fighting for, if not? then lay that friend at the feet of cross for God to work further. It’s not to say forget about them and move on, its more like remember them and carry them in prayer.

    So to all my friends out there, you are all amazing and I love you. Thanks Eugene for this, I pray that God will continue to use you for His Kingdom.

    This was truely a blessing!
    Lovies,
    G.

  3. Tuna says:

    I’m in awe of how stunning most of these shots are…
    these pictures are amazing and your work is wonderful to look at =]

Leave a Reply

